Lien vers le site du Musée de Normandie - Nouvelle fenêtre

Exhibition La Pierre de Caen

19 June – 31 October 2010

 return HOME 


The castle, the enclosure for the museums

Built in the 11th century with Caen Stone mined from the moat, William the Conqueror’s castle was restored with Caen Stone from Cintheaux. Come and discover or rediscover one of the biggest fortified enclosures in Europe, now the museums precinct :

The Musée de Normandie

the populations, from prehistory up until the great migrations of the Middle Ages, from the mutations of rural areas up until the early turmoil of industrial society.

Open daily from 9.30 am to 6 pm.
Closed on Tuesdays from 1st November to 31st May, and certain bank holidays.
Tél. 02 31 30 47 60.

The Musée des Beaux-Arts

set in a decidedly contemporary building, is one of France’s major museums for 16th and 17th century European painting (France, Italy, Flanders, Holland), and its collection of etchings makes this visit a must.

Open daily except Tuesdays and certain bank holidays, from 9.30 am to 6 pm.
Tél. 02 31 30 47 70.

The sculpture Park

  • Bourdelle, Grand Guerrier (1894-1900)
  • Damien Cabanes, Sans titre (1999)
  • Huang Yong Ping, One Man, nine animals (1999).

Free access.

Lien vers le site de la Ville de Caen - Nouvelle fenêtre